Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 Felted Bag pattern - Casting on using waste yarn
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RoseM
Permanent Resident

Canada
1898 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2004 :  5:38:51 PM  Show Profile Send RoseM a Private Message
Well, the wind is out of my sails -- came home with some Lopi and a pattern (photocopied) for what seemed like a straightforward felted shoulder bag. I'm an adventurous beginner who has never run across this before:

BAG BOTTOM
"With US11 and waste yarn, CO 25 sts. Knit 1 row.
Purl 1 row. Break waste yarn. With purse yarn K25.

Row 1: Purl"

Then it goes on to the alternate knit and purl rows till the bottom is done. And then I pick up stitches and knit in the round.

I just don't understand why waste yarn is used - what is it supposed to achieve that using the purse yarn right from the beginning wouldn't?

Also, "kfb" is used in the purse body -- what does that mean?

Thanks so much for the help. I was hoping to start this while watching Canadian Idol tonight. Guess I'll have to work on some of my wips that have been calling me for a couple of days

fmarrs
Guardian angel

USA
9776 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2004 :  8:45:43 PM  Show Profile Send fmarrs a Private Message
>I just don't understand why waste yarn is used - what is it supposed to achieve that using the purse yarn right from the beginning wouldn't?<