Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: An Irish twist on yarn from Black Water Abbey
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 switching skeins???How w/out knot?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

newshound
New Pal

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2002 :  6:04:17 PM  Show Profile Send newshound a Private Message
Hi everyone. I am a novice. So far I have only made dishclothes and 1 scarf. My first ambitious project is a baby blanket made with this lovely pima cotton yarn made by Schaeffer yarns called "Laurel."

My question is this... I am running out of yarn from my first skein (3 more to go and I am getting faster all the time) and the wonderful lady at the yarn shop told me "a knot in your knitting is like a stone in your shoe." She is on vacation and the shop is closed. I am self taught, but so far, I can't figure out the best way to transition. I mean, I don't want a stone in my shoe! :-)
Thanks,
Alice

Kathe
Chatty Knitter

USA
181 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2002 :  9:19:30 PM  Show Profile Send Kathe a Private Message
Hi Alice,

One of the ways I add new yarn is leave a 6" tail with the old yarn and a 6" tail with the new yarn, work a st using both yarns and leaving the tails hanging. Later, weave the tails in. I learned this trick from EZ's "Knitting Without Tears" and it works well. You will never notice that one st done with two strands unless it's a super bulky yarn and you won't waste yarn by always starting a new skein at the beginning of a row.

HTH, Kathe

Go to Top of Page

pat@watt.com
New Pal

1 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2002 :  9:21:04 PM  Show Profile Send pat@watt.com a Private Message