Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Yarn Talk
 Seeking Advice about Yarns
 How do you say it?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Diva Ree
Gabber Extraordinaire

537 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2004 :  06:56:58 AM  Show Profile Send Diva Ree a Private Message
I'm not new to knitting, but I'm new to the yarn world now that I've picked up knitting again. I was pronouncing Berroco as Ber-rock-o...but I was corrected, and know it's pronounced Ba-row-ko.

I've been prouncing Colinette as Coe-li-net, but a customer at the yarn shop was saying Cawl-i-neat.

How do you say Gedifra?

I say Boo-clay (boucle), but have heard Boo-klee, Boockle, and probably some other pronounciations that threw me off as to what the person was talking about.

Is "FFF" the name of a brand, or is there a meaning to the initials?

I say Ca-tea-a (Katia), but have heard Caddy-a.

I think me and the other women in the yarn shop are just saying whatever we want. LOL

Susan T-O
Permanent Resident

USA
2481 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2004 :  07:20:23 AM  Show Profile  Visit Susan T-O's Homepage Send Susan T-O a Private Message
I just say "yarn" and leave it at that LOL!

Susan T-O in Long Beach CA

"He that would make his own liberty secure must guard even his enemy from oppression." --Thomas Paine
Go to Top of Page

MJM
Chatty Knitter

Canada
293 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2004 :  07:32:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit MJM's Homepage Send MJM a Private Message