Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: An Irish twist on yarn from Black Water Abbey
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Sock Forum
 Best cast-on for socks?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

NitKnit
New Pal

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2005 :  10:51:47 PM  Show Profile Send NitKnit a Private Message
I'm relatively new to sock knitting and wanted some opinions about the best cast on to use. I use a cable cast-on for most things, but it gives my socks a "frilly" edge. Any suggestions?

Anna

KAC
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
443 Posts

Posted - 01/06/2005 :  06:23:59 AM  Show Profile Send KAC a Private Message
For socks (or anything that needs an elastic edge), the German Twisted Cast-on is the best one I've found. It takes a minute to learn, but I use it a *lot* now.

Here's a website with picture directions:
http://knitting.about.com/library/bltgcaston.htm

Kim
http://sanityknit.blogspot.com/
The largest room in the world is the room for improvement
Go to Top of Page

fmarrs
Guardian angel

USA
9776 Posts

Posted - 01/06/2005 :  07:56:42 AM  Show Profile Send fmarrs a Private Message