Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Great last-minute gifts for knitters
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 Explain Elizabeth Zimmerman?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

SusanT
Seriously Hooked

950 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2002 :  11:21:28 AM  Show Profile Send SusanT a Private Message
I'm a very novice knitter and keep hearing about Elizabeth Zimmerman and how influential she is/was on knitting. I haven't been able to get my hands on her books (my library doesn't have them). Can you explain to me what makes her so revolutionary? Do you recommend her to a newby?

BessH
Permanent Resident

3095 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2002 :  12:49:43 PM  Show Profile  Visit BessH's Homepage Send BessH a Private Message
Dear Susan

EZ was an amazingly forthright clear headed opinionated darling knitting genius (can you tell I am one of her devoted fans?) whose work spanned the last half of the 20th century. She championed knitting in the round with circular needles at a time when most knitting instructions insisted that you knit back and forth on straight needles, creating flat pieces that were then sewn into tubes and attached to each other by sewing. I remember they also tended to describe projects in the most intricate and complicated manner. Basically she taught that you were smart enough to knit the way you chose to. And then she showed you how to shape the basic pieces with the minimum of sewing, and to fit your particular needs.