Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Reader's Corner
 Talk about books reviewed in Knitter's Review
 How-to DVD's
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

KAMAOR
Chatty Knitter

113 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2005 :  09:09:47 AM  Show Profile Send KAMAOR a Private Message
Hi I'm new to the KR and been prowling around the edges taking everything in. I am a very left handed beginning knitter, who has to watch someone do a stitch for a bit to convert it so I can do it, or have actual pictures to go by. My bestfriend who is a knitting fanatic. Helps when we are together but we can't get together often enough. (it's a 4hr. drive) Anyway blah blah blah. Has anyone checked out any of the DVD's out there? I'd like to sit at home and try and figure it out. I could have sworn some where I saw one rated highly but it had a pink case? Ring any bells?
Thanks for the help, you guys are great!
Karen

Momma78239
Permanent Resident

USA
4859 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2005 :  09:19:49 AM  Show Profile  Visit Momma78239's Homepage  Send Momma78239 a Yahoo! Message Send Momma78239 a Private Message
Karen,
Knitting is a two handed activity - much like typing. Many lefties assume that they must learn to knit "opposite" the usual way, especially because it feels awkward when the first try knitting. Well, it feels awkward for righties, too. It's just your hands and fingers learning a new skill. And if you learn to knit 'continental' style, it's very left hand dependant, anyway.