Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 Yoga for Knitters.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

YOGAKNIT
New Pal

USA
18 Posts

Posted - 08/27/2005 :  12:47:00 PM  Show Profile Send YOGAKNIT a Private Message
This past year I published a little handbook called Yoga for Knitters.
I was compelled to do this for a variety of reasons, but one being that during a knitting binge last year I sustained a significant tendinitis in my shoulder. Granted I had been knitting in the car for hours on end and quite a lot the week before. However being a yoga teacher I assumed my regular practice would balance it out.
Well I was wrong. It took a couple of months for it to heal. I adjusted my practice and learned a great deal working with this type of injury (a repetive stress injury).
Now I include a lot more stretches in my daily life to avoid this from sneaking up on me.
I also learned to stay away from the binging. It is not worth it.
My book includes lots of simple ideas for squeezing little yoga moments into your knitting life.

Anyone out there have knitting related ailments???
I would be interested in what you are dealing with.

Maureen
"the knitting yoga teacher"

kidknits
Chatty Knitter

USA
295 Posts

Posted - 08/27/2005 :  1:48:25 PM  Show Profile  Visit kidknits's Homepage Send kidknits a Private Message
Where can I get a copy of this? It sounds exactly what I'm looking for! I've been able to figure out stretches for my hands and wrists but need help with the shoulders.

http://www.kidknits.biz
Go to Top of Page

Musicknitter
Chatty Knitter

USA