Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Great last-minute gifts for knitters
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Crochet Talk
 Crochet for beginners - basic questions
 Sewing together Granny Squares
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Martheme
Sustaining Member

USA
1565 Posts

Posted - 12/20/2005 :  09:58:18 AM  Show Profile  Visit Martheme's Homepage  Send Martheme a Yahoo! Message Send Martheme a Private Message
Hi,

I'm very new at Crochet and I'm working on making Granny squares from the contents of my scrap pile . . . which is what I've been planning to do with some of it for the past few years . . . when I'm not making kids hats and mittens from it . . .

My questions is, what is the best way to attach the squares to each other?

Should I put them faces together and just sew around the edges? Should I try to crochet them together somehow?

I'm planning to sew together panels of 9 squares to make bigger squares and then arranged those into some sort of larger pattern to make an afgan for the couch . . . something that we may start using as a lap warmer which will get bigger once I can get more panels done. Perhaps someday it will grow into something that fits on our king size bed . . . down the road when I've generated a lot more scraps!

thanks for any suggestions.

Martheme

visit my sites:
http://www.inspirationsyarn.com
http://martheme.blogspot.com/ & the baby blog http://mimmot.blogspot.com

jaymeKnits
Permanent Resident

USA
1353 Posts

Posted - 12/20/2005 :  11:56:46 AM  Show Profile  Send jaymeKnits a Yahoo! Message Send jaymeKnits a Private Message