Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Sock Forum
 Kid Merino?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

klingklang77
Chatty Knitter

Australia
102 Posts

Posted - 12/25/2005 :  12:05:21 PM  Show Profile Send klingklang77 a Private Message
I got 2 skeins of crystal palace yarn kid merino. I love it and thanks to simply socks yarn company for having it. I made up a huge list of yarns that i wanted for xmas, b/c i am so short money now.

I have never worked with kid merino before. It seems so thin. I would like to make up a pair of socks but all the patterns I have seen online require more yarn than i have. Has anyone just made a regular socks with the kid merino? I was thinking I may just make a scarf with it instead.

Thanks!

Lisa

Lavender Stripes
Gabber Extraordinaire

417 Posts

Posted - 12/25/2005 :  1:09:28 PM  Show Profile Send Lavender Stripes a Private Message
There is this pattern: http://www.straw.com/cpy/patterns/KidMerino-socks1.html
but it calls for three balls. I would say, though, based on that yardage, you could squeeze out a pair of simple anklets, maybe with a picot edge, with the yarn doubled: it would be just the same as with a single ball of Koigu, which I have done.
Go to Top of Page

kbshee
Permanent Resident

USA
4166 Posts

Posted - 12/25/2005 :  2:22:55 PM  Show Profile Send kbshee a Private Message
Thanks for the link...I'm going to try these.

kim in oregon
http://kbshee.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

klingklang77
Chatty Knitter

Australia
102 Posts

Posted - 12/25/2005 :  2:23:09 PM  Show Profile Send klingklang77 a Private Message