Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A strong and discreet knot for knitting
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Introduce yourself!
 Introductions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

unclejoey
New Pal

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 11/12/2013 :  04:55:03 AM  Show Profile Send unclejoey a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hi. My name is Joe and I've been knitting for almost 30 years. Most of those years I have been knitting as a front line defense to a serious mental illness. I credit knitting as much as medication and much more than any talk therapy in keeping me stable. I learned to knit in college when I picked up a copy of EZ's "Knitting without Tears" from the college bookstore for the incredible deal price of $1.00. I consider that the most useful single dollar I have ever spent. I like to knit sweaters and accessories for myself, family and friends. I consider myself an advanced knitter. Hoping to find good knitting camaraderie here.

socks4all
Permanent Resident

USA
1460 Posts

Posted - 11/12/2013 :  05:23:16 AM  Show Profile Send socks4all a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Welcome to KR. Knitting is both mentally stimulating, and calming at the same time. That is why I try to fit in a little every day. Wow, an EZ book for $1. That is a treasure. She was, and still is, a source of inspiration.
Go to Top of Page

unclejoey
New Pal

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 11/12/2013 :  08:21:37 AM  Show Profile Send unclejoey a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the welcome! I totally agree with you about EZ. My first sweater was a bottom-up raglan from that book. It gave me the confidence to continue and really sealed the deal.