Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Revisiting the mitered square
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Spinner Central
 Spinning Wheels
 Will a Louet Successfully Spin Sock Yarn?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

TerriP
Chatty Knitter

124 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2007 :  6:09:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit TerriP's Homepage Send TerriP a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am a long-time knitter, but total newby in the spinning world. I am in the process of selecting my first wheel. As a knitter, I prefer to knit with worsted, DK, and fingering weight yarns.

My most local fiber shop sells Ashford and Louet wheels. There are other brands I am drawn to, but my local shop only stocks those, and I would like local service in the event that I need a new part or something. I am cautious as I don't want to outgrow my wheel, and I want the wheel to allow me to spin everything from fingering, or rather especially fingering, up to about a worsted weight without having to treadle myself into oblivion.

Any spinning experts have any thoughts on my query as to the Louet being a good wheel for fingering weight to worsted?

lld
Chatty Knitter

USA
166 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2007 :  7:25:41 PM  Show Profile  Visit lld's Homepage  Send lld a Yahoo! Message Send lld a Private Message  Reply with Quote
A couple of questions....have you checked that your local shop actually stocks parts and would help you repair it? Depending on where "local" is for you, you might do just as well with additional sources.

Which Louet?

Plying is a consideration as well (as in do you prefer to use singles, 2 ply, 3 or more plied yarn, etc).