Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 two yarns held together
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SkeinHerder
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
385 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2007 :  2:44:19 PM  Show Profile Send SkeinHerder a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I'm making an afghan for my soon to be MIL for christmas. When I went to my LYS they did not have a super bulky yarn, but told me to I could knit two strands together. I've not knitted this way before. Now that I'm ready to start knitting it, I'm not so sure. This is my first time doing cables and I'm not sure I want to hold two strands together. Oh ya, this is the first time I'm meeting my MIL. The love of my life is British and I'm going to England for the first time this Christmas.

I received a yarn cataloge in the mail this week and saw where I could buy super bulky yarn. Any suggestions? Tips for cables and/or knitting with two strands would be helpful.

Thanks,
S:)

Happiness is an inside job.

Dottie Mae
Chatty Knitter

USA
155 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2007 :  5:32:09 PM  Show Profile Send Dottie Mae a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Fear not holding two strands together. Two can work as easily as one. Once you start, you will not notice that there are two strands. Why not swatch the two yarns in your pattern stitch for a few inches to see whether you like the effect?
Go to Top of Page

Mickey
Permanent Resident

USA
1670 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2007 :  6:43:17 PM  Show Profile Send Mickey a Private Message  Reply with Quote