Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 How often do you frog?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

hikingmommy
Chatty Knitter

USA
238 Posts

Posted - 10/23/2007 :  11:36:56 AM  Show Profile Send hikingmommy a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I've been knitting for nearly 2 years now. I've done sweaters, fingerless gloves, cables, lace, and miscellaneous other projects. I'm finding that the more I venture out and try different projects, yarn substitutions, etc., the more I end up frogging, sometimes hours worth of work. Is this normal? I imagine it is, but I need some reassurance b/c it's so frustrating feeling like I just wasted hours of work when I have to rip it out b/c something isn't right. Is this the norm? Is this a phase and with more experience I'll have to frog less?

Thanks for your insight!

Jints
Chatty Knitter

176 Posts

Posted - 10/23/2007 :  12:02:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I know exactly how you feel. I frog some of nearly every project i start at least once, often more, before & after i really get going. So I think its totally normal, and I've been Knitting for a few decades. Part of my problem is I have a hard time deciding on which pattern or stitch to do, and often I'm not happy with the result, for various reasons, once I get knitting it. It can be quite frustrating. But it hasn't stopped me loving knitting.

Happy Knitting.
Go to Top of Page

AuntyNin
Seriously Hooked

USA
772 Posts