Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Things we do Besides Knitting
 Career Talk
 What constitutes an "interview suit" anymore?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

fiddlerbird555
Permanent Resident

USA
1429 Posts

Posted - 01/25/2008 :  10:51:15 AM  Show Profile Send fiddlerbird555 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I'm job hunting for the first time in nearly 20 years. Last time I mostly wore a cheap female version of a suit -- jacket, feminine blouse, skirt, nylons, low pumps. They guys still wear suits, but I'm not sure about ladies. (I'm an engineer & mostly work with men and besides I'm in California)

I could use some advice and perhaps some cross-culture (US) reference points (i.e. if you tell me I need to do something, let me know your background a bit). My hair is greying, though it's long and thick & looks good, I never did wear makeup so I probably couldn't carry it off convincingly. The types of jobs I am going for are technical or just maybe technical management.

I can go loopy, or I can knit. Your choice.

bfaye
Seriously Hooked

USA
721 Posts

Posted - 01/25/2008 :  11:01:04 AM  Show Profile  Visit bfaye's Homepage Send bfaye a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Whatever you wear, make sure you are comfortable wearing it. Nothing is more apparent than someone who is uncomfortable with themselves and what they are wearing.

Good luck!

benne
http://feathersong.wordpress.com
Go to Top of Page

counterculture
Gabber Extraordinaire

453 Posts