Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 What's On Your Knitting Wish List?
 WINDING YARN
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pinkmarbles1@aol.com
New Pal

3 Posts

Posted - 04/17/2008 :  07:58:50 AM  Show Profile Send pinkmarbles1@aol.com a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hi, I have been knitting off and on for almost 40 years. I have never wound my yarn into balls. I have just used it from the skein. I don't want to sound stupid after all these years of knitting, but what is the purpose of winding the yarn on a yarn winder? Thanks for any answers you may give me. Martha

Martha Ballard

amazingwoman
New Pal

USA
27 Posts

Posted - 04/17/2008 :  09:10:27 AM  Show Profile Send amazingwoman a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I can't speak to a yarn winder, but I just got my swift on Monday. Much of the yarn that I buy comes in hank, and most of *that* is lace weight and fingering weight. I've tangled on hank too many winding it off of my legs or the back of a chair, so I finally broke down and picked up a swift.
Go to Top of Page

JayhawkKnitter
Seriously Hooked

USA
910 Posts

Posted - 04/17/2008 :  09:13:01 AM  Show Profile  Visit JayhawkKnitter's Homepage Send JayhawkKnitter a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Well, if you're knitting from a center pull skein, then the yarn obviously won't tangle.

But if the yarn's original purchased state is in a hank - if you can keep it from tangling you're one up on me. I can't - and I haven't broken down yet and bought either a swift or winder. So it's hand-wound balls from hanks for me.

Check out my blog!