Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 Help with M1a and M1b
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

spicername
New Pal

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 01/13/2009 :  7:22:13 PM  Show Profile Send spicername a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I've found a pattern I really want to try but am having difficulty understanding some of the stitches called for and cannot figure out what the explanation means. (I'll admit I'm what you would call an "intermediate knitter." While I've been knitting for a few years I've always tried easy patterns due to being intimidated by what I considered hard.)So...now that I'm branching out and have learned new stitches I cannot understand the following stitches and explanations. They are listed as follows:

M1a: Make/increase 1 st by knitting into the back of the strand after the current st.
M1b: Make/increase 1 st by knitting into the back of the strand before the current st
M2: Make/increase 2 stitches, 1 on each side of the stitch

Okay, so I thought M1a would be a M1 but then was totally thrown off by M1b instructions and M2 totally wiped me out. I've just finished reading two knitting books, (Knitting for Dummies and The Reader's Digest Complete Book of Knitting and Crochet) and still can't comprehend. I'm about to give up and am thinking I'm one of those people if I can't visualize it or be told in a way I understand I'll never get it. I really enjoy knitting and just want to get better. Can someone help me or point me in the right direction?

CraftyGrammy
Chatty Knitter

USA
194 Posts