Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Knitter's Review Retreat details and Sheepshow
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 What is "casting on" over bound stitches mean?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Little Bit
New Pal

42 Posts

Posted - 07/08/2010 :  7:21:36 PM  Show Profile Send Little Bit a Private Message  Reply with Quote

Hello:

I am a beginner knitter and am working on an E-Reader cover for my mom and came across the following directions.

Buttonhole Row (RS): Mark center 3 sts. Working in Seed St, work 8 sts, bind off 3 sts, work to marker,
bind off 3 sts, work to last 11 sts, bind off 3 sts, work to end.

Next Row: Work in Seed St, cast on 3 sts over each group of sts bound off on previous row. Work 4 rows
even in Seed St. Knit 2 rows, purl 1 row. Bind off knitwise on WS.

Here are my questions:

1. What does cast on 3 stitches OVER each group fo sttches bound off in previous row mean? Does it mean that I just cast on new stitches when I come to that group of stitches?

2. Can I use the knitted cast on for those extra stitches?

This is a gift for my mom so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much!

Jan

pinecone70
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
393 Posts

Posted - 07/08/2010 :  8:09:52 PM  Show Profile Send pinecone70 a Private Message  Reply with Quote