Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A new whodunit about a true yarn whisperer
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Tool Talk
 Software
 Design Software
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ccucinot
New Pal

34 Posts

Posted - 05/07/2014 :  3:49:03 PM  Show Profile Send ccucinot a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am in the process of deciding which software program to purchase. The Stitch Painter or DAK (design a knit) . I will be purchasing a Silver Reed #840, etc. This will be quite an investment and I want to be sure I am making a good choice for the garment design software. I am new to stage in knitting, so any input will be most appreciated.

Carmel

phlame
Permanent Resident

USA
1559 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2014 :  10:05:49 AM  Show Profile Send phlame a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have DAK8 and have had the program since it originated. I also, at one time, had Stitch Painter and have not upgraded it or used it for a long time. Since I mostly machine knit I found that DK8 was much better for my needs. It is also adaptive for hand knitting. The new upgrade of DK8 is really great, it does all kinds of wonderful things. I'm sure that one of the technical people on this forum would be able to give you a more technical description of it. I couldn't knit without it. Feel free to ask any specific questions you have.

Shirley, Dana Point, CA

...I'm fairly certain that, given a cape and a nice tiara, I could save the world.

Go to Top of Page

ccucinot
New Pal

34 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2014 :  2:53:24 PM  Show Profile Send ccucinot a Private Message  Reply with Quote