Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Spinner Central
 Spinning Techniques
 Weaving Advice Needed
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

megknits
Sustaining Member

USA
729 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2008 :  5:58:37 PM  Show Profile Send megknits a Private Message  Reply with Quote
(Sorry this is under the spinning topic -- I didn't know where else to put it, and there are a lot of spinners who also weave.)

I'm a pretty new self-taught weaver, and I'm running into problems with a warp I'm trying to wind onto the loom. It's a pretty fine cashmere yarn that seems to have very little tensile strength. It breaks with very little pressure. At the same time, the warp threads are very "sticky" with their neighbors, so inevitably they seem to tangle as I wind the warp, and then break. So far I've broken about six threads, and I'm only doing a 10 inch wide scarf. When the first couple broke I thought I would just use replacement threads and hang weights on them, but at this point I think the tension on the whole warp roll is now uneven, so I fear there will be even more breakage as I weave.

Should I just rip it off the loom and toss it or is there some way to salvage this mess? The value of the yarn is about $20, so it won't break the bank, but I just hate to give up. On the other hand, it's making me crazy....

Meg

Meg
Necessity may be the mother of invention, but laziness is her favorite aunt.

Kade1301
Permanent Resident

France
1438 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2008 :  12:09:33 AM  Show Profile  Visit Kade1301's Homepage Send Kade1301 a Private Message  Reply with Quote